NJ Firearms ID Info
How to apply for your FID and Permit to Purchase
**Please use the information below to understand the application process.**
If you have any questions regarding the process, please contact your local police department or New Jersey State Police.
New Jersey State Police Firearms Registration and Application System (FARS)
Visit the following website using a smartphone, mobile device, or computer.
You will need your Law Enforcement ORI Number, which can be found at the following links.
State of New Jersey ORI Numbers
Municipality by County
New Jersey State Police Troop Stations
Complete the online application and review for accuracy prior to submitting. Errors may result
in your application being rejected. It is recommended that you print the confirmation page since it
contains information needed for subsequent steps.
If you are applying for an initial Firearms Identification (FID) card,
you will be required to make an appointment for your fingerprints to be processed. Instructions will be
provided on the confirmation page.
Failure to do so will result in your application being automatically deleted from the
FARS system and it will be necessary to reapply.
Just an FYI:
A New Jersey Firearms Identification (FID) card, allows an individual to purchase rifles and shotguns, but in order to purchase a handgun you will need a permit to purchase.
If you want to purchase a handgun, you will need to also apply for a Permit to Purchase, which is located in the Purpose section of the application.
Both the initial application and permits can be completed at the same time.
If you apply for only a Firearms Identification Card but later decide you also want a Handgun
Purchase Permit, a new application must be submitted
Please note the following regarding Handgun Purchase Permits:
A handgun purchase permit may not be issued to anyone under 21 years of age.
ONE (1) Permit is required for each handgun you wish to purchase (each permit is $2).
Per state law, you can only purchase one (1) handgun in a 30-day period.
Permits expire after 90 days, but can be renewed for another 90 day period prior to the initial expiration of said permit.
If you want to purchase additional handguns after all issued permits have been used, or if the
permit(s) have expired, you must apply for additional permits.
Please advise your references that the FARS system will email a questionnaire regarding your
application. Advise your references to check their email system to ensure the email was not
discarded as “spam.”
Your references must complete the questionnaire online. Advise them to complete the
questions immediately so that your application will progress in a timely manner. A delay in a
reference’s response will result in a delay in the application process.
Provide the best email addresses and telephone numbers for both your references and
The New Jersey State Police website provides information on New Jersey firearms laws,
transportation of firearms, and frequently asked questions. The site can be found by following